Mexico to Create National Space Agency

April 21, 2010

by AQ Online

Mexico’s lower-chamber of Congress, la Camara de Diputados, yesterday approved legislation to create a space agency that will be charged with crafting a space program for the country. The formation of the new agency, Agencias Espaciales de Mexico (AEXA), was approved with overwhelming support from lawmakers including 280 votes in favor and only two votes against. According to reports, the agency will work to increase education and research and produce specialists in the fields of space technology and exploration and will work in coordination with the secretary of communications and transportation.

First proposed in 2005, the agency will also be responsible for formulating general guidelines for the Política Espacial de México—the country’s official policy on space related matters—and the Programa Nacional de Actividades Espaciales. According to its charter, AEXA will develop a space program that increases the country’s educational, industrial, scientific, and technological capacity in the field of space travel.

Comment on this post

According to Fernando de la Peña, an engineer and key proponent of the agency, AEXA will be based in two locations—one in the state of Hidalgo where agency operations will be housed, and the second on the Yucatán Peninsula to be used for space shuttle launches.

Tags: Mexico Space Agency, AEXA, Camara de Diputados de Mexico

To speak with an expert on this topic, please contact the communications office at: or (212) 277-8384.
blog comments powered by Disqus


Connect with AQ

Twitter YouTube Itunes App Store


Most Popular


  • Most Viewed
  • Past:
  • 1 day
  • 1 week
  • 1 month
  • 1 year


Atlanta, GA
   Sabrina Karim
Bogotá, Colombia
   Jenny Manrique
Caracas, Venezuela
   Paula Ramón
Guatemala City, Guatemala
   Louisa Reynolds
   Nic Wirtz
Monterrey, Mexico
   Arjan Shahani
Montreal, Canada
   John Parisella
Ottawa, Canada
   Huguette Young
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
   Flora Charner
   Stephen Kurczy


Salvador, Brazil
   Paulo Rogério
San Salvador, El Salvador
   Julio Rank Wright
  Carlos Ponce
Santiago, Chile
   Joseph Hinchliffe
Washington, DC
  Eric Farnsworth
  Liz Harper
  Christian Gómez, Jr.
  Christine Gomes
  Kezia McKeague
  Johanna Mendelson Forman