Guyana Elects New President, Assumes Office Saturday

December 2, 2011

by AQ Online


Ruling People's Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) candidate Donald Ramotar yesterday claimed victory in Monday’s presidential elections in Guyana, after the national Election Commission announced the he had captured  49 percent of the vote. Ramotar, who ran under the campaign slogan "Let Progress Continue," promised to maintain social policies and infrastructure development projects that he said were a staple of his predecessor Bharrat Jagdeo’s administration.

Comment on this post

Tensions had risen in Guyana over the course of the week due to the delay in announcing the results from Monday’s election.

Opposition candidate David Granger’s coalition, A Partnership for National Unity (APNU), won 41 percent of the vote to help seize an opposition-controlled parliamentary majority for the first time in 19 years. Race plays a heavy roll in Guyanese politics. The PPP/C—in power since 1992—is widely supported by the country’s ethnic majority of Indian descent, while the APNU—a coalition of the People’s National Congress (PNC) and other smaller parties—is dominated by Afro-Guyanese.

Outgoing President Jagdeo has been praised by supporters for his pro-business positions and his leadership in helping Guyana overcome severe economic hardship in the 1980s. Opposition parties and the country’s Afro-descendants, however, accuse the government of racial discrimination, close ties with drug traffickers and ignoring the country’s high crime rates.

President-elect Ramotar will be sworn into office on Saturday.


Tags: Elections, Guyana, Donald Ramotar

To speak with an expert on this topic, please contact the communications office at: or (212) 277-8384.
blog comments powered by Disqus


Connect with AQ

Twitter YouTube Itunes App Store


Most Popular


  • Most Viewed
  • Past:
  • 1 day
  • 1 week
  • 1 month
  • 1 year


Atlanta, GA
   Sabrina Karim
Bogotá, Colombia
   Jenny Manrique
Caracas, Venezuela
   Paula Ramón
Guatemala City, Guatemala
   Louisa Reynolds
   Nic Wirtz
Monterrey, Mexico
   Arjan Shahani
Montreal, Canada
   John Parisella
Ottawa, Canada
   Huguette Young
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
   Flora Charner
   Stephen Kurczy


Salvador, Brazil
   Paulo Rogério
San Salvador, El Salvador
   Julio Rank Wright
  Carlos Ponce
Santiago, Chile
   Joseph Hinchliffe
Washington, DC
  Eric Farnsworth
  Liz Harper
  Christian Gómez, Jr.
  Christine Gomes
  Kezia McKeague
  Johanna Mendelson Forman