U.S. Delegation Leaves Gross in Cuba

February 21, 2013

by AQ Online

A delegation of U.S. lawmakers led by Sen. Patrick Leahy (D-VT) returned from Cuba on Wednesday without jailed USAID subcontractor Alan Gross. The seven-member delegation left for Cuba on Monday with the intent of freeing Gross, who was arrested in 2009 for bringing communications equipment as part of a "democracy-promotion program" and is currently serving a 15-year sentence.

The lawmakers-including Chris Van Hollen (D-MD) from Gross' district in Maryland-met with Gross in prison, though they did not comment on his condition. The delegation also met with President Raúl Castro for three hours, according to Cuban government sources. Sen. Leahy said afterward that he and Castro "discussed the continuing obstacles and the need to improve relations," adding that that a rapprochement "is in the interest of both countries." The group also met with Foreign Minister Bruno Rodríguez Parrilla and Parliament President Ricardo Alarcón.

Comment on this post

Other delegation members included Senators Jeff Flake (R-AZ), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), and Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), and Representative Jim McGovern (D-MA). Cuban officials have made it clear that there will be no progress on freeing Gross until the Cuban agents imprisoned in the U.S. for treason, known as the "Cuban Five," are let go. Despite the political stalemate and the unmoving embargo, engagement between high-level government officials from both countries can create opportunities for changing otherwise static policy.

Tags: Cuba

To speak with an expert on this topic, please contact the communications office at: or (212) 277-8384.
blog comments powered by Disqus


Connect with AQ

Twitter YouTube Itunes App Store


Most Popular


  • Most Viewed
  • Past:
  • 1 day
  • 1 week
  • 1 month
  • 1 year


Atlanta, GA
   Sabrina Karim
Bogotá, Colombia
   Jenny Manrique
Caracas, Venezuela
   Paula Ramón
Guatemala City, Guatemala
   Louisa Reynolds
   Nic Wirtz
Monterrey, Mexico
   Arjan Shahani
Montreal, Canada
   John Parisella
Ottawa, Canada
   Huguette Young
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
   Flora Charner
   Stephen Kurczy


Salvador, Brazil
   Paulo Rogério
San Salvador, El Salvador
   Julio Rank Wright
  Carlos Ponce
Santiago, Chile
   Joseph Hinchliffe
Washington, DC
  Eric Farnsworth
  Liz Harper
  Christian Gómez, Jr.
  Christine Gomes
  Kezia McKeague
  Johanna Mendelson Forman